You Have Options!
Regardless of how many changes you make using Photometric Power Tools, nothing is saved to disk until you select one of the options from the File Menu in the File Viewer/Editor dialog. We recognize that you may need different strategies when saving for various maintenance operations and have provided the following options:
Save Modified Files (overwrite existing files)
This command will overwrite any files you have changed during your session in existing folders and sub-folders per the following rules:
- All files are saved to IES LM-63-2002 format
- If LDT files have been loaded, they are saved as IES (easy convert to IES function, load and save)
- If files have been renamed, the file using the original filename is deleted
- Modified clones are written to the same folder as the originals. Any clones that have not been renamed will retain the clone suffix per the program settings
- Clones that have not been modified are destroyed (not saved)
- Files are reformatted per IES LM-63-2002 best practice
Maximum Line Length (see System Settings) is applied when saving if maximum Line Length > 0:
Keywords are broken into multiple lines using [MORE] as needed
- Angles and candela are broken into multiple lines as needed
- Data is placed on correct line per LM-63-2002
- Delimiters are added when necessary
All files are reloaded with changes applied including modified clones (which are no longer treated as clones)
Save Modified Files to New Folder
This command will save only the files that have been modified to a new folder of your choice (browse to that location) per the following rules:
- If the changed files were originally opened using the Select Files and Load/Append command, all modified files will be saved in the new folder (no subfolders)
- If files changed files were originally opened using the Select Folder and Load/Append command, all modified files will be saved in subfolders using their original folder names under the new root folder (the selected folder). Sub folders are automatically created as necessary
- In both cases, if a file with the same name already exists in the new location, it will be overwritten
All additional rules per the Save Modified Files command (above) are observed aside from the file locations.
Save All Files to New Folder
This command will save ALL files, both modified and unchanged to a duplicate folder structure beginning with the folder of your selection.