Start a new topic

Resize luminaire when IES file is absolute photometry?

I am somewhat new to AGI32 but I'm learning fast, can you help?

I am looking for help/info to resize luminare's in AGI32 when the IES file is absolute photometry and still get accurate calcs.

For example: A manufacturer supplies an IES file for a 4ft long fixture but they do not supply an IES file for the same fixture at 2ft long. Using the IES file for the 4ft fixture I can define the luminaire in AGI32 and I can change the luminous box and symbol size from 4ft to 2ft. However because the file is in absolute photometry, there is no way adjust the lumen output and so I wonder what is happening to my clacs when I adjust the fixture size whithout being able to modify the lumens accordingly?

Is there a workaround?

Thanks in advance for any advice or links,

cheers,

e l i

As an alternate means to get the reduced output from an absolute IES file, you can also take advantage of the "User Defined Factor" within the LLF portion of the Define Luminaire window.  Since the Total LLF is a direct multiplier to the computed values, you can use some quick math to "scale" your output to the final absolute value you need. 

For example, if a 4-foot luminaire has an absolute value of 2000 lumens, and you've confirmed with the manufacturer that a 2-foot version of the fixture would be half of that, once you've made the size adjustments to the fixture, putting a 0.5 factor in the User Defined Factor will simulate the reduced lumen output of 1000 lumens (2000 * 0.5 = 1000).  You won't see the Luminaire Lumens update when you do this, though (I think), so you may want to make a note somewhere in the Label, Tag, or Description that reminds you that it's a 2 foot fixture.

Correct, adding the necessary multiplier as a 'User Defined Factor' in the LLF calculator could be used as a quick fix for some people.