Start a new topic

Emergency Lighting Calculations

I am fairly new to the lighting program, so bare with me. We are required to run the photometrics for emergency lighting.  We have been using LED light fixture, but continue to run into the problem with not being able to calculate for emergency lighting as the IES files cannot be altered to mimic emergency ballast output.

Is there a way this can be done?

1 person has this question

Hi. I can tell you how I do it which may not be the best way. 

• Do a save as to create a copy of the design. In 'Rooms, Surface Editor', change all the room surfaces to 0.01 and direct flux only. 
  • Use the 'Edit calculation' command to move the calculation grids to the floor, I don't like to use the 'specify calculation points for room' when creating the room because it won't post edit. So you may need to re-add the calculation grid depending on how you set it up. 
  • Next go to the scene manager and crate a new scene, the name of this scene will read on the calculation schedule, then a new channel and turn the original off. 
  • Now go to the 'define luminaire' command box. Create a copy of the luminaire with your choice of label. I like to label mine alphabetically, A then becomes AE etc. Now edit the lumens to the emergency output and save it. 
  • Use the 'edit luminaire' command to select the luminaires you wish to run in emg mode then change the 'label' and the 'channel' to the ones you have just set up. Either bulk modifications or individually depending on how many you wish to change. eg. AE and channel emergency which will be on. If you do a bulk modification make sure you tick the tick boxes or it won't happen. 
  • Calculate. Now you can see the room in emergency mode. Sit back and enjoy. 

There is one pit fall. The room surfaces don't edit backwards so if your mains operation changes the entire emergency edit needs to start again. 

I am very willing to be corrected if anyone has a better method. 

Hi, Barbara.